Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Duty of Loyaty of head Engineer

9 replies [Last post]
Stom R.
User offline. Last seen 17 years 9 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None
Hi everybody, I am very new to the field and was wondering if anyone knew what the industry norms are regarding head Engineers on large construction / B.O.T. projects:

I was recently hired to join the Contractor for a major project, where the Govt. is the Client. The concession contract has provisions for the role of "Engineer" who has lots of authority. I believe he is supposed to be impartial, since the contract says he is to make decisions (which are binding) in accordance with the "Project Documentation", or if unspecified, in accordance with "the accepted professional principles and standards in the field of engineering."