Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Actual Finish vs Finish date (Should I use constraint date?)

13 replies [Last post]
Rizwan Siddiqi
User offline. Last seen 11 years 21 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None

Fellow Planners,

I am new to PV so you guys will have to humor me for a bit.

Have a question about my finish date in the plan I have just created in PV. If a task gets completed earlier than "finish" date, when I put in the actual (and schedule), the finish date understandably changes to the actual date. However, all of the following task dates that are dependent on my completed task also get pulled in (when i schedule).

For example:

Task A - Finish Date 17th

Task B (Dependent on Task A FS) - Start date 18th

Task A Actual Finish - 12th .....Task B start will change automatically to 13th.

While Task B is dependent on A, it is a different team that I would have speicifically reserved to start work on the 18th and I cant have them start work on task B on the 13th  just because Team A for Task A finished earlier.

Note, I do not need baselines for this project so cant go off of baseline dates. 

Given my situation, do I need to apply start constraint dates to all of the Task B type activities (which are all of them)?? I dont like constraint dates but let me know if that is what I need to do in this situation.

Thanks in advance

Riz

Replies

Rizwan Siddiqi

Hi Raymund.