Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Critical Activity Query- Am getting all activities as a critical activity

7 replies [Last post]
Deepak Gowda
User offline. Last seen 12 years 39 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None

Hi All,

I am new to project planning although i have used P6 3 years ago i have forgotten everything. After long gap i have started scheduling residential villa project , for me all activities coming as a "Critical Activity" ????????? i have linked all activities based on FS logic one after another. like chain link. when i did it years ago i used to get some non critical activities too but now i am getting all activities as a critical activity. Please any one can help me out in this regard. It will be a great help.

Thanks

Deepak

deepak.gowda@hotmail.com

Replies

Miklos Hajdu
User offline. Last seen 11 years 18 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: GPC Malaysia

Deepak,

Do I understand well, that you have only one chain (that is one path from the start to the end)  in your network? If it's true (and there are no constraints (even no deadline set to your project), no diferent calendars and no resources with limits) than all activities will be critical. ( with zero total float)

That's one of the basic principles of network technique.

Miklós 

George Archibald
User offline. Last seen 11 years 35 weeks ago. Offline

Hi Deepak,