Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Provisional sum?

9 replies [Last post]
kaythrine Bigueras
User offline. Last seen 13 years 25 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None
Hi I am fairly new in planning and currently designated to make a programme for a roadway and security facility. My fist question is (I will give you guys a lot of answering for me), What is PROVISIONAL SUM???

Does all contract have it? Or is it present in contract/specs or docs?

I am confuse, I read about it in one example sched and i am not sure if i need to include it.

Replies

Scarllet Pimpernel
User offline. Last seen 12 years 38 weeks ago. Offline
Hello Kaythrine,

I did notice you are presently in design related planning. There are lots of scenario here:

Probably 1: The provisional sum relates to construction of structure with no exiting design drawings, say for example bldg A, roads and parking, etc. Solution: you can have a WBS showing this structures at the same time allow for one line activity describing the structure. This is important because you have to capture the duration of its provisional sum relating to the construction of each structure to give a clear picture on what the construction duration might be.

GB, PTL, TY
Scarlett

Shah. HB
User offline. Last seen 15 weeks 2 hours ago. Offline
Hi Bigueras

You do not to have to allot a space for provisional sum .In the project programming structure you can assign one WBS in specific for provisional sum and its related activities
kaythrine Bigueras