Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Finish-to-Finish driving relationship.

9 replies [Last post]
Mina Arsal
User offline. Last seen 7 years 23 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None
This is my first project I am using the following technique. I started to call it "Time Frame Scheduling", simply I started to open time frame for the activities not an exact duration for each activity.

First I start to open a time frame for a specific activity (A1) which identify the possibility of starting the activity then link it with its successor with FF lag relation ship with another time frame for the successor activity (A2) in which I calculate the duration of A2 as follow: after which duration from starting A1 I can start A2.

This technique enables me to have an early start for the A2 and at the same time I am not restricted to specific duration as A2 will always be in progress as long as A1 is not finished.

When I am updating schedule I start tracing the FF relationship is still driving or the long duration of A2 became the driving. If so, I start reducing the time frame of A2.

I would like to hear from you about this technique.

Replies

Carlos Arana
User offline. Last seen 5 years 33 weeks ago. Offline
Mina:

Many of the discussion in this forum is around Critical Path Method (CPM), as it is a proven, mathematical technique for planning. These are the basics of CPM:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zoBv45v_AQY