Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

WBS Questions

17 replies [Last post]
Richard Feynman
User offline. Last seen 10 years 24 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None

Hello, I am new to the study of project management and am working on implementing a WBS. IF I understand it correctly, here is one example of phase breakdown for a project:

1. Define

2. Plan

3. Execute

4. Close Out

Questions:

A. I assume that somewhere in #2 the WBS is created?

B. Does the WBS then get listed primarily under #3? In other words, if I were creating a project outline and listing WBS tasks under phases  would it be:

Execute

-WBS Task 1...and so on?

C. So let's use construction as an example, and this gets top the heart of my question. Every example construction WBS that I see starts with the assumption that the home is already designed, for instance it will start with "excavate" or something like that. But *where* does all of the design work fall that has to take place before that, for instance, the drafting of the architectural plans? How can the scope be worth the paper it is written on if there is no design? Isn't the design integral to creating a meaningful WBS, not to mention an estimate? OR is the design something that gets carried out in the execution phase, as on the other hand it does seems to fall under part of the project "work"??

Hopefully my question makes sense as I may be working under some false understandings.

Thank you in advance for any assistance.

Replies

Anoon Iimos