Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Add progress of Internal Activities To Engineerin Progress (based on deliverables)

7 replies [Last post]
umer malik
User offline. Last seen 11 years 9 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None

Hi,

I am a lead planning engineer working for a company in uae.

Im faced with a challenge and so far have not been able to come around it.

the challenge is that i have an engineering schedule and we measure progress based on weights assigned to to only he deliverables (docs drawings etc). However we spend significant amount of time on meetings, vendor coordination , site visits and other internal activities which do not reflect in progress. As a result our productivity is always low cuz we end up spending too many manhours on a projec compared to very little progress (which only reflects deliverables).

is there a way that i can add or track progress for such internal activities and add them to my deliverables progress so tha that my productivity and progress figures are more realistic. I know in oil and gas indusry in uae clients generally do not allow adding activities to the lis of deliverables.

I was wondering if anyone knows of a method to counter this.

Ill be grateful

Thank You

Replies

Rafael Davila
User offline. Last seen 4 hours 56 min ago. Offline