Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Need experts opinion on the way we do planning

9 replies [Last post]
Evgeny Z.
User offline. Last seen 39 weeks 2 days ago. Offline
Groups: None

I have several years of experience working as project manager as well as using MS Project.

But I am not sure, that the planning technique we are using in organization is “the state of the art” one.

I will appreciate if experienced planners can comment on the way we (I ) do the planning using MS Project.

Program setup in MS Project

1) Our group runs several projects, using the same pool of people, therefore we use “resource sharing” in MS Project. There is one dedicated file, which has only resources (no schedule). All individual projects are setup to use resource sharing with this file.

2) There is separate “project” with people’s vacations and holidays. In this project individual vacation is just an activity, to which person is assigned 100%

Stages of planning

1) I 1st make project schedule without resources (only with durations). This is because in our business the duration of activity pretty much doesn’t depend on amount of people involved.
2) Then I assign resources using general names (e.g. Systems Engineer, Field Engineer etc)
3) Once it is done, I check the total budget needed (in man hours).
4) After that I start looking at all tasks and start replacing a generic resources with specific ones on task by task basis (e.g replace Systems Engineer on task “Design system” with Richard Smith )