Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

BLAMING THE PLANNER FOR THE PROJECT DELAY

25 replies [Last post]
M M
User offline. Last seen 16 years 20 weeks ago. Offline
Hello all

Can all experienced planners advise me on this please.

I’ve been working on huge project for the last 18 months as planner employed by the main contractor of the project. The project is now finishing, with overall duration of about 3 years. And the project is delayed with 6 months.
Now the company I work for has decided to put a claim for the delay.
At the same time I have been told by my bosses that I haven’t done my job very well and issued with a letter about this, and heard that they might terminate my contract.
Do you think that the company I am working for is trying to blame me for the delay of the project? Is it a general practice contractors to blame the planners? How does it work?

Replies

Scarllet Pimpernel
User offline. Last seen 12 years 42 weeks ago. Offline
WOW it is nice to hear the real planners

But this did not help MM.

Since MM is now in this situation, I would suggest the technique called "reverse trap" or "the hunted now becomes the hunter"