Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Should activity durations always be in whole days? (P6)

19 replies [Last post]
A T
User offline. Last seen 5 years 23 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None

Hello

I am just starting out in planning and I don't have much experience when it comes to estimating durations. 

My question is, is it best practice to use whole days when inputting activity durations? I understand that having fraction or decimals of days can cause activities with one day duration to span across two days etc. 

For example if you are working an 8 hour day and estimate an activity to take 10 hours then it will take one man approx 1.25 days. 

Should you always round your duration estimates up or down to whole days (3.2 days to 3 days or 5.7 days to 6 days) in order to be able to set the start and finish times of your activities to match the calendars start and finish times? 

Does the need to round up and down to whole days vary depending on the size and the length of the project? 

Thank you in advance. 

Replies

Zoltan Palffy
User offline. Last seen 4 weeks 4 days ago. Offline

glad I could help 

A T

Thanks Zoltan

Zoltan Palffy

already answered that 

A T
Zoltan Palffy

every make sure that the data date TIME is correct

make sure that all start milestones start at 8:00 am or the earliest time for that associated calendar

make sure that all finish milestones finish at 5:00 pm or the latest working time associated with that calendar.