Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Estimating Total Construction Manpower

3 replies [Last post]
Richard Beazley
User offline. Last seen 2 years 35 weeks ago. Offline
Anyone out there who can give me some guidance? I’v only been a planner for 30 years and I’m still learning !!
We have a "Mega Project" here in Thailand - 7 major petrochem projects on one site ! Very early stages, like almost nothing has been designed yet, but we do know the planned output of end products, and a rough schedule.
We are trying to establish the size of the total workforce at peak. i.e. in simple terms, how big a camp should we build? catering.... buses..... ambulances... high level planning. It will be a whole lot easier when we get more information, but for now are there any guidelines out there?
Our current estimate is between 3000 and 8000, but that’s too broad !!
your ideas are welcome !

Replies

John Lawson
User offline. Last seen 10 years 50 weeks ago. Offline
Hi Richard

Interesting problem you have there!

As your project is not even at the "questimate stage" any number chucked into the ring is as good as the next.

At at this stage of the work, your two educated quesses are the best you can do untill you can get some lower level estimating/costing organised.

Try basing the camp size and its services on an average of your two numbers, spread out equally over all the projects, then as the estimates develope update your original number. Its the best that can be achieved at this stage of the project.