Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Weight factor

23 replies [Last post]
Imron Asran
User offline. Last seen 13 years 6 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None
This is my first time involved in this forum. I am now working for a Construction Company in Indonesia. I have a problem regarding the Weigth Factor for EPC project (oil & gas )in preparing S-Curve by Excel. I used to utilize the MONEY (US$) as weight factor for each activity or WBS, but now my boss want to utilize the MANHOURS as weight factor. My question is which one the rigth one to be used as weight factor between MONEY and MANHOUR for EPC (Engineering, Proc, Constr.) project. As far as Iknow, MANHOUR is only applicable as weigth factor for Engineering Project. I am looking forward your advices. Thank you.

Replies

Arturo Dobla
User offline. Last seen 5 years 23 weeks ago. Offline

Hi, heres my comments

Weight Factor - you can use either/both whenever it is required, primavera is capable to do this, it is only a matter of how you set up your programme coding.

Money wise, it is good to use money as the weight factor, but physical progress wise and labour productivity it is in manhours.

hope I have made a contribution..

regards

Amar Aghan

For an EPC Project, we should be able to bring activities of all phases (Design, Procurement, Sub-Contract, Construction, Fabrication, Assembly, Commissioning) to one platform.