Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

IS IT TOO LATE FOR ME TO MAKE A COME BACK?

5 replies [Last post]
Galing Galing
User offline. Last seen 16 years 2 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None
Dear Fellow Engineers,

I have a BSME degree with 10+years Schedule/Cost Engineer experience ie. construction, power plants, nuclear, etc.
But that was in the 1980’s. Since then I went to my own business in Sales (not related to engineering) and now retired from it. With my 3 daughters soon going to college! I need to come out of retirement. (NO MORE SALES) I Want To Be Back In "Planning and Scheduling Engineering" Career! My first thought is to get certified in Project Planning Software Programs (to catch up with current tools of the trade - technology).... IS IT TOO LATE FOR ME TO MAKE A COME BACK?

PLEASE HELP ME, with your comments, thoughts, advise, and any response to my situation.

Sincerely,
Tony

Replies

DATTATREYA PADHARTHI
User offline. Last seen 5 years 20 weeks ago. Offline
Antonio,

its true,Instead of understaning the project & its process flow people require ready made solutions (Other posts reqesting for WBS & Plans).
Doing a P3 course , they apply for Sr. Planning engineers without having the engg/project experience.
Unfortunately skill sets available in the market are less compared to available positions.

Cheers
Datta
Galing Galing
Carmen A,