Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

how does p6 define which is the driving predecessor?

10 replies [Last post]
Mateo Sanin
User offline. Last seen 1 year 28 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None

Hi all,

I'm kind of new to P6 and I came across this slight problem:

I have an activity with two predecessors both of which I am unsure when the ultimate start date will be (it will be defined at a later stage), this activity should begin start to start with whichever of the two predecessors starts first.

When I add both predecessors and set them start to start the activity always lines up start to start with the predecessor which starts the LATEST. Is there any way to change this?

I've looked around quite a bit and haven't been able to find anything.

Thanks for your help

Replies

Andrei Sannikov
User offline. Last seen 10 years 19 weeks ago. Offline

Change your successor activity type to Level of effort and its start will determined by the start of the first predecessor; later on when your start date/logic is finalized change it back to a normal task.

Rafael Davila
User offline. Last seen 6 hours 12 min ago. Offline

As you will see there are many possible combinations of similar requirements, a few as follows;

Start after x SorF

For a view in action go to the movie on following link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VBtl3V1p9HA

Rafael Davila

Gary,