Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Forward & Backward Pass

30 replies [Last post]
wilfred datinguinoo
User offline. Last seen 17 years 46 weeks ago. Offline

Hi everybody,

I’m still new in P3 can you help elaborate/explain
the significance of forward and backward pass and how to
use it?

Regards,

wilfred

Replies

Gary Whitehead
User offline. Last seen 4 years 42 weeks ago. Offline

A 10 year old thread skewing a tad off-topic, so I'm going to lock it.

Stephen Devaux
User offline. Last seen 14 weeks 2 days ago. Offline

I just have to ask: if we are talking about the forward and backward passes, why is the other item of info to be discussed total float? Should we not focus instead on the more important metric of critical path drag? More important because it's only ON critical path activities, while float is always OFF the critical path?

Additionally, because it delays project completion and time is money, drag almost always has a dollar value called drag cost. Time delay = value decay. Float does not, usually, have a cost (unless it gets used up and winds up becoming drag!).