Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

How to have comprehensive knowledge of other disciplines?

3 replies [Last post]
boran ucar
User offline. Last seen 1 year 25 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None
Hi everyone. As a civil engineer I'm currently working in a industrial project as a site rough works engineer. I want to pursue my career as a planning or cost control engineer. How can I have comprehensive knowledge of other disciplines (mechanical, electrical, instrumentation, piping etc) for planning, quantity surveying, progress payments etc? Should I read specifications, method statements or what else do you recommend?

Replies

boran ucar
User offline. Last seen 1 year 25 weeks ago. Offline
Thank you so much for your answers. But there is one thing that I can not understand, is the only duty of a planning engineer collect the information from different disciplines and merge them by a planning software? If managers of ofher disciplines don't give proper information, shouldn't a planning engineer know the method statements, manhours, materials etc to interfere and correct the schedule? What makes a planner different from a planning software operator?
Zoltan Palffy
User offline. Last seen 3 weeks 5 days ago. Offline