Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Resource lookahead

6 replies [Last post]
Codge 1992
User offline. Last seen 5 years 32 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None

Hello.  I am a project manager for a design consultancy and we currently use P6 to manage out programmes, and then an excel sheet as a visual representation for lookahed purposes. My manager has requested that i investigate whether there is a better way of doing things rathetr than doubling ip on work and populating a s/s from multiple P6 printouts. 

Do you have any specific filters that you use / excel sheets that you populate that make P6 a bit more visual to look at for a lookahead point of view?

I currently have an excel ‘workload planner’ (below example) that has everyone on one excel sheet and their daily tasks (green for work, light green for checking, yellow for out of office work, red for annual leave).  I find that P6 is a little too much information overload and doesn’t often go into the nooks and cranny’s of daily tasks as it simply has a timescale that you know an activity is happening over.

I have made myself a lookahead filter but seems I can only do this by project and again I feel that I need more control over resources.

Replies

Zoltan Palffy
User offline. Last seen 4 weeks 1 day ago. Offline

view show on bottom activity usage spreadsheet or resouce usage spreadsheet

Raymund de Laza
User offline. Last seen 31 weeks 4 days ago. Offline