Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Finding activity duration with limited information and time given

8 replies [Last post]
michele earley
User offline. Last seen 10 years 15 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None

Question:Im a student and I wanted to know if its possible to find the activity durations if you know the type of materials that will be used in the project, but dont have their estimates and then dividing it from the productivity to get the durations. I know that you can find durations using company database from past projects. Is there some sort of online databse that you can use to search similar projects to get an idea of the durations? 

I have the construction documents, but have limited time to create a schedule for the entire project, and dont have access to a database but willing to use one if theres a public version out there.

Replies

Rafael Davila
User offline. Last seen 3 hours 9 min ago. Offline

Time Measure shall become decimal friendly.

A decimal day shall have 10 hours.

A decimal hour shall have 100 minutes.

A decimal minute shall have 100 seconds.

Earth shall have 10 time zones.

A decimal year shall have 100 work days and the rest paid holidays!

Can you figure it out the conversion factors?

LOL

Glitter Happy Holidays

Mike Testro
User offline. Last seen 5 weeks 2 days ago. Offline

Hi Michele

It is metric based so you will have to apply a conversion factor from metric to imperial.