Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Relationships and the Critical Path. Confused

4 replies [Last post]
Mark McErlean
User offline. Last seen 8 years 44 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None

Hello!

I am new to planning (6 weeks). It is my first job in the construction industry also.

I have been taken on as a planning engineer for a small-medium sized main contractor in the UK. I am the only planner currently and I have taken over from an experienced guy who was here for years.

So far I have been using ASTA v12 to draw up tender programmes and a few contract programmes also. I am not sure if this is normal or not but when I am doing the programmes I mostly use Finish to start relationships. Most of the time the client supplies us with a start date and end date for the project so I just slot all the the necessary activities in FS relationships between the dates. I use the prelims, drawings and past projects to determine the durations and spit the project up into sections, i.e Extension, Refurb, Building 1 or into phases of work if requested.

To my knowledge, construction is mostly finish to start activites as most things cannot start until another is finished, or sometimes mid way through completion therefore almost all of the tasks are critical I would imagine?

Clients sometimes as for the "critical path" shown in asta. When I click to show it most of the project is in red, is the correct? Or should I try having more tasks on start to start?