Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

What software would fit my specific needs?

3 replies [Last post]
Jof Neuhaus
User offline. Last seen 12 years 49 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None
Hi everyone,

I am a freelance illustrator and work alone. Most of the time i have 3 to 5 projects running at the same time, some of which are recurring every couple of weeks. A project can last a day or several months. The most important planning related data is the amount of hours estimated and ofcourse the deadline. I bill my clients based on fixed prices.

What i am looking for is software that can help me plan my daily work. I have some very specific wishes that i just cant seem to get fulfilled with the software i have tried so far.

First of all, it needs to be simple, and if possible graphically well-designed. After all, i am a visually orientated person. I dont do well with tabular data.

Second, i dont need complex resource allocation, personel handling, billing, etc.

Third, i would like to have an overview of a timeline, where projects are spread out, each on a new line. Then, when i have some gaps (of free time), and i enter a new project, it must fill these gaps.

Fourth, i would like to be able to adjust the length of the project or the deadline, in such a way that it will automatically fill gaps if they are present.