Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Cost coding of activities?

48 replies [Last post]
Bo Johnsen
User offline. Last seen 8 years 4 weeks ago. Offline
Do anybody out there have any tips, tricks, traps, ”do/don’t”, suggestions, comments, etc. when setting up / applying cost codes to your activities in the programmes.

Best regards,

Bo

Replies

Theresa Lim
User offline. Last seen 8 years 22 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None

Hi everyone,

Im new in Microsoft Project.

I face problem to inside/add costing to Microsoft Project. Can someone assist me to do it?

Best regards,

Theresa

Rafael Davila
User offline. Last seen 8 hours 25 min ago. Offline
Rashid,

Be cautious about activities spanning more than one billing period, a milestone won’t do it as you do not know when it will or will not happen. I believe a calendar driven level of effort activity with appropiate lag can be the equivalent and most probably can work. The key is on the calendars. This all software should be able to model, not sure all can handle multi-constraining when not only resources but financial and materials constraints must also be taken into consideration.

Because it would be wrong to assume cash flow is to be computed from an Optimistic Early Start Schedule it should be computed as a statistic. Perhaps using Monte Carlo or Risk Analysis by Spider Project can give you the probabilistic distribution for NPV. Using Monte Carlo and manually applying NPV to each simulation cycle can be a daunting task.

NPV Cash Flow