Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Recommended way to update the progress in P6

38 replies [Last post]
Chary Chary
User offline. Last seen 3 years 50 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None

Dear all,

I am new to Primavera. With all the manuals I am sort of still lost on what is the meant procedure to update status / progress of activities in Primavera and you can change several things and the tool will re-calculate the other (e.g. updating duration % complete will update remaining duration)

Is my understanding correct, that procedure looks like this

Step 1

Think of Data Date for which you are updating progress

Step 2

Start activity, if it is started and update the actual start date, if different from the planned start date

Step 3

Update % complete

Step 4

Unless activity is set to be Duration % complete, then update remaining duration (otherwise remaining duration would have been updated when you were updating % complete )

Step 5

If activity has finished, click the “Finished” tickbox and select the actual finish date, if applicable

Step 6

Do a schedule run with the data date, thought of in Step 1

Replies

Zoltan Palffy
User offline. Last seen 3 weeks 3 days ago. Offline

if you are just changing the data date to perform a what if scenario then the dates and float would change but would revert back to what is was AFTER you change the data date back to what is was prior to July 1, 2019 

Robert Bell
User offline. Last seen 5 years 41 weeks ago. Offline

Hi Schmuel,