Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Starting a Planning Career

12 replies [Last post]
Andy Lopez
User offline. Last seen 13 years 23 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None
Hello all,

I am interested in getting into the world of planning and would appreciate some help/advice if possible. I have an engineering degree and already have some planning experience but have never held a planning position as such. I have used Microsoft Project, Suretrak, P3 and P3e and have some experience in managing projects. My problem is that most jobs advertised are for planners with several years experience or junior planners with experience in the relevant field i.e. civil/rail. Do positions exist for someone with good engineering/industrial experience looking to change careers without going right to the start of the career ladder? Not that I have anything against starting again as I believe you must learn the basics first, but I can’t really afford to take a large hit in salary. Plus there don’t seem to be any opportunities close to home, meaning costly travelling bills too!

If anyone out there has maybe done the same and can give some advice it would be most appreciated!

Many thanks,

Andy

Replies

VAL REPUBLICA
User offline. Last seen 9 years 24 weeks ago. Offline
Andy,