Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Starting a Career in Planning from the Start

4 replies [Last post]
Oliver Fitzaptrick
User offline. Last seen 9 years 5 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None

Hi there,

I will try to cut this short as possible:

Based in the UK. I am looking for a career change: I have a masters in Urban Planning and a humanities related BA degree. I then worked in marketing, account management, and then set up my own business. As you can tell, I didn't follow a pre-determined career route, and work experience to-date has been completely unrelated to my education (being self critical, I see this as making my CV as 'unfocused').

I'm now ready to take control of this (late 20's) and have researched into construction planning. I won't try to give you a sales-pitch here, but I believe that it suits my core personality set (marketing & account management didn't!), and I think I would enjoy & do well in this field. I've always enjoyed project management (albeit I know planning is not simply 'project management').

I obviously have no relevant qualifications for this, so can you please advise the best route to even get a foot in the door to relevant companies? And what type of companies should I be targetting? And what job roles? (Even junior planners need a certain level of site experience, so what positions can give me some site experience whilst also being relevant to a future in planning?)