Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Cannot delete project because it is in shared mode

5 replies [Last post]
Noe Radovan
User offline. Last seen 32 weeks 9 hours ago. Offline
Joined: 18 Jan 2010
Posts: 14
How can I delete a project which is in shared mode? or how can I make it in exclusive mode?

The cause for this is my computer turns to sleep mode while primavera is still running. After I resume to sleep mode my admin user should need to log out and close the program, so I logout and close the program then open again the primavera. It’ still ok but the problem is the project that was open on the time the computer sleeps turn from exclusive to shared mode. It’s always showing that I open my project as shared mode everytime I update any changes. I can copy the project and I can also open the copied project as exclusive without any problem. But I cannot delete the original project cause it’s showing other users currently using it which is also admin.

I just only need to delete this project by all means. I cannot uninstall the program since I have other projects and I cannot back up all of it one by one.

Please note this is stand alone installation and no web access installed and I am accessing using admin without the sample. I tried creating a new admin and deleting the original project but still the same problem which is the file access mode is shared. Kindly please help me on this. Thanks in advance.


Regards

Replies

Zoltan Palffy
User offline. Last seen 2 hours 19 min ago. Offline
Joined: 13 Jul 2009
Posts: 2720
Groups: None

Patrick has an excellent point see if it is in check out mode

another trick is to copy some xer file and rename it to to the file that you want to delete and then check in that xer file. Then you can delete it

Patrick Mullen
User offline. Last seen 11 hours 26 min ago. Offline
Joined: 15 May 2020
Posts: 18
Groups: None

I'm not sure if this still work as I use SQL lite, but you used to be able to resolve this by making sure the project was "Checked-in" and active. When the project is in shared mode, the project would get "checked-out" and would remove your ability to delete the project. Make sure the project is checked-in under the project settings as shown below.

7441
check_out_status.jpg

Roy Godbee
User offline. Last seen 2 weeks 22 hours ago. Offline
Joined: 22 Jun 2020
Posts: 2
Groups: None

I cannot delete old projects.  P6 gives me the message that the project is in "shared mode" and there are "other users".  I am using a stand-alone version and obviously the only user so this doesn't make sense.  Also, when opening projects I do not have the option of opening exclusively. I have created a new database but this does not help.  I have read the previous posts and replies but these do not help. Any suggestion would be greatly appreciated.

Noe Radovan
User offline. Last seen 32 weeks 9 hours ago. Offline
Joined: 18 Jan 2010
Posts: 14
I shut down my computer and still the same. I cannot delete this project.
niles luo
User offline. Last seen 9 years 8 weeks ago. Offline
Joined: 25 Nov 2005
Posts: 46
Groups: None
hi,
Shut down and reboot your computer. It will be ok.
Best Regards.