Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Open Plan Professional 3.1

2 replies [Last post]
Reuben Hyman
User offline. Last seen 10 years 29 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None

I'm new to open plan and really don't know anything about it.

I'm a Active Directory Adim, Systems admin.

I've inherited this mess of Server Migration, which should have taken place years before I got here.

All I have are these instructions below as to how to migrate.

Migrating OpenPlantoaNewServer

1)  InstallOpenPlanonthenewserverusingtheMulti-User(Server)option.Serialnumbersand

passwordscanbefoundinAppendix A.

2)  Copythedatabasefilefromtheoldservertothenewserver.DatabasefileshouldbelocatedathostIPAddress\\Welcom\OpenPlanProfessional3.1\Sql\Access\OPP31.mdb

3)  EdittheConfig.datfileonthenewservertoreference thepathofthelocationoftheDataSourcefileinthenewserver.SeeasampleoftheConfig.datfileinAppendix B.

4)  EdittheDataSources.datfileonthenewservertoreference thecorrectpathofthenewlocationof

theOPP31.mdbfile.SeeasampleoftheDataSource.datfileinAppendixC.

5)  Letthecustomertestthedatabaseonthenewserver.

6)  Oncethecustomerissatisfiedwiththefunctionalityofthenewserver,taketheoldserverofflineandreassigntheIPaddressoftheolderservertothenewserver.Don’tforgettomodifythe Config.datandDataSources.datfilesonthenewservertoreflectthenewIPaddress(x.x.x.x).

7)  Copythedatabasefileonceagainfromtheoldservertothenewserver(thiswillaccountforany

changesthecustomermighthavemadewhilethenewserverwasinthetestingphase.