Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

help program examples needed

7 replies [Last post]
margaret conway
User offline. Last seen 12 years 34 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None

Hi,

I do a lot of programing in my job, however, I am self taught. There are no planners in our company to ask for help so I was hoping someone on here could help me out.

I am trying to put together a programme for a tender bid,  I have no issue with the construction bit, however as part of the submission I have to show briefing periods, development of main contractor design elements, design coordination, lead in times, letting of packages.

I was wondering if anyone could send me a sample programme they have done that incorporates these items so I know what it looks like or how to go about it. I have a feeling it could all look very messy if I try to put it all on the one programme.

Please help

Replies

Mike Testro
User offline. Last seen 5 weeks 5 days ago. Offline

Hi Margaret

The task-per-line mode in PowerProject is a useful tool - until you start to allocate progress when it all has to be done manually - rather than copy paste from an excell sheet.

The use of a trade hammock allows you to link your design approval tasks to the earliest trade deployment - even when the programme is revised and or updated.

Best regards

Mike Testro

PS It is not a good idea to put your email address in the open forum - that is what the private messages are for.

margaret conway