Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Importing Multple XER files

7 replies [Last post]
David Murphy
User offline. Last seen 11 years 30 weeks ago. Offline

As a forensic programmer, I go to many different companies - I am often sent multiple xer files to analyse. Is there any way of importing more than one xer file at a time? I understand that you can export multiple file as one xer, but often we don't have this advantage.

Replies

Steven Auld
User offline. Last seen 7 weeks 1 day ago. Offline

David,

It depends on what you are looking to do with the XER Files.

The Command line utility can only create new projects & cannot update existing projects - not sure if there is a speed advantage in using this option as the Primavera Desktop application is not open during this import process. This will require some understanding of creating batch files & modifying XML Files to enable this to work. I have only used this for file exports & not tried the import option.

I would personally not recommend going down the xerFileParserBuilder route to merge multiple xer files, unless you really know the structure of the XER files & that you confirm thtat there is no duplicate key values in all the XER files - potential to corrupt yor entire database this way. It is also likely to take you longer to do this than just importing the files normally!