Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Hard Dollar Estimater / Equipment as a Resource

1 reply [Last post]
Shelby Solski
User offline. Last seen 6 years 26 weeks ago. Offline

Greeting all :)

We have just implemented the new estimating software Hard Dollar - which downloads the estimate directly into Primavera P6 v7 (at least that's version we are using).  Has anyone had any experience with this software -- I am extremely new to using it and wonder if its truely as wonderful as they claim.

Also having problems with equipment - which is being loaded from Hard Dollar into Primavera - but seems to have a calendar mind of its own.   I truthfully have never loaded equipment (except critical items) into a schedule.  Does anyone have any recommendations on how to set up equipment as a resource - should it be on a 24/7 calendar at an hourly or day rate etc etc.  I am a bit lost here.  

Any help is appreciated :)  THANKS

Replies

Rafael Davila
User offline. Last seen 13 hours 53 min ago. Offline

Shelby,

I do not know about Hard Dollar software but perhaps can give you some hints you can adapt.

At home, we have several rules of thumb for equipment rentals, though it might vary, in general:

• Equipment monthly rental ~ 6% cost of the equipment
  • Weekly rental = 1/3 monthly rental
  • Daily rental = 1/3 weekly rental

Depending on how much time you will rent the equipment you have to decide on your average rental rate reduced to hourly rate.