Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Developing Schedule for Construction of Cement plant using Primavera P6

3 replies [Last post]
Abdel Moniem
User offline. Last seen 5 years 19 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None

I am Student and I am currently Project management course we are required to obtain data of a chemical plant and perform both time and cost management so I used the data from the link below 

http://c-pmt.weebly.com/uploads/4/0/1/7/4017805/final_assignment_sample.pdf

I am new to Primavera P6 use I am writing to ask if I created the WBS, activity network and Gantt chart appropriately? I first created a WBS similar to the WBS on page 26  the link I provided. Then I pressed activities I start adding the activities again as in the WBS I created, then related the activities to one another as it appears on page 27. I set all the relations as Finish-Start but I don't know if this right or not. How can I show the float on each activity in the activity network. I added the duration of each activity in the original duration section. 

wbs_1.png
activities_11.png

Replies

Abdel Moniem

By float I meant the amount of time a task can be delayed without affecting the project completion date. I feel like drawing a PERT diagram for 30 activities is rather tedious.

Abdel Moniem