Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Capping Layer

13 replies [Last post]
Rick Aquino
User offline. Last seen 13 years 23 weeks ago. Offline

Hi All,

I’m a Mechanical Engineering graduate but struglling to do a road schedule project, would you mind telling me what is a capping layer (how it is done after sub grade or base course, what is emulsion in a road construction? is it being done after the sub-grade or the capping, and how about "tack coat" is it the same as asphalt coating?

Thanks..

Replies

ashraf alawady
User offline. Last seen 9 years 30 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None
Thank you for these important infomation .
i have stated what we have in our specification and standards.
i will try to investigate the subject more and i will come back if if successe to gather any additional infomation.
Clive Randall
User offline. Last seen 16 years 19 weeks ago. Offline
I am sorry I do not agree, the capping layer caps the substrate and is before the sub base see below

"A typical Road Pavement consists of several layers, consisting of different types of materials chosen for their particular properties, such as:-
Smooth ride, impervious to water, skid resistance, texture, load spreading ability/strength, drainage etc

===============wearing course============= 40mm. H.R.A./SURFACE COURSE (WEARING COURSE)
:::::::::::::::basecourse::::::::::::::::: 60mm. BINDER COURSE (BASECOURSE)
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx roadbase xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx 100mm. BASE (ROADBASE)