Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Project Planning as a General Contractor

20 replies [Last post]
William Stakelin
User offline. Last seen 21 years 49 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None
This is my first visit to this site and I am thrilled to death. I am so glad to find a forum to discuss this subject matter.
I have 17 years experience in commercial construction. I have held the position of Supervisor for the last three years. It has been the last three years that I have taken an interest in scheduling.
The size projects that I have delt with so far range from 4 to 5 million. The company that I work for dose around 125 million annualy.
It is my experience that the time frame is set into stone before the bid is excepted. Therefore, it is my job to schedule the project so that it meets the constaints of the timeline set by the owner/architect. Sometimes this timeline is unreasonable, sometimes it is not.
I have learned CPM and have "Sure Track" I have no formal education just on the job training.
I have built a 4.5 mil project in 10 months by just "winging it". (I Love what I do for a living.)
I am interested in becoming more efficient as a supervisor by means of scheduling.
If anyone has any tips or guidelines to follow I would be greatful

Respectfuly yours,

William E. Stakelin

Replies

Mike Harvey
User offline. Last seen 10 years 45 weeks ago. Offline