Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Staff Resource Planning Using MS Project

3 replies [Last post]
Joseph McCluskey
User offline. Last seen 11 years 46 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None

Hi All,

I have been tasked with creating a site staff resource programme by my employer.

I am relatively new to planning and am hoping someone could provide me with suggestions on how to efficiently create a programme for staff resources using MS Project.

The objective of the programme is to view working time against non productive time to assign excess capacity to jobs.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Joe 

Replies

Evgeny Z.
User offline. Last seen 42 weeks 3 days ago. Offline

Unless I am missing something in your question, this is the standard MS Project functionality.

Create resources in View=>Resources

Create tasks (schedule) is Gantt diagram view

Assign resources to tasks.

To see resource utilisation go View=> Resource usage

Mike Fenton
User offline. Last seen 7 years 30 weeks ago. Offline

Hi Joseph,