Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Forensic delay analyst/expert witness

4 replies [Last post]
Casey Newcombe
User offline. Last seen 4 years 10 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None

Hi, 

I'm currently in my last year of uni studying Quantity Surveying and my goal is to get into the dispute resolution/expert witness sector.

I understand this is one of the most lucrative sectors to work in. Also will this role become dispensable with new technologies such as BIM 4 as I don't want to waste time studying something that may be worthless in the future.

Also anyone know how to get into this niche sector?

I'm asking this before thinking of studying my masters in construction law and dispute resolution.

Many thanks

Replies

Ollie Lecm
User offline. Last seen 4 years 16 weeks ago. Offline

Hi Casey

If you are really into this sector, I recommend that you should rack up some working experience on site/as planner first before moving to forensic delay and eventually develop into an expert. Otherwise lawyers will screw you hard during the cross-examination (fk 'em - tbh).

Personally I dont think this sector will get replaced anytime soon, if not at all. People are people. They will always find something to fight against each other and machine wont be able to resolve that.

Mike Testro
User offline. Last seen 5 weeks 1 day ago. Offline

Hi Casey

It's Catch 23.

You won't get to testify in court until you have testified in court.