Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Asta users needed to validate decision support system based on project specific restrictions

1 reply [Last post]
damien kavanagh
User offline. Last seen 5 years 23 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None

Hi

I’m a student in the process of finishing MSc. In Applied BIM Management to be completed by 14.11.18.

I’m writing to you in connection with my MSc. thesis which, includes the hypothesis: Is 4D Building Information Management (BIM) improving construction management?

I have entered this study from a three tier approach. The objectives include:

1. Analyse the PAS1192-2 standards in relation to the temporal aspects of a construction project

2. Critically evaluate the methods used to determine the suitability of a 4D BIM software application for a BIM project

3. Develop a best practice evaluation tool to determine the suitability of a 4D BIM software application for a BIM project

4. Validation of the developed best practice evaluation tool

5. Analytical study of three 4D BIM software applications using the developed best practice evaluation tool.

I have developed an evaluation tool based on a Decision Support System (DSS), the resulting best practice evaluation tool will be used as part of an active research method to analyse three 4D BIM software applications which will include:

Synchro Pro                                    2017

Asta PowerProject                            2017 

Navisworks Manage                          2017