Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

New CPMA - Looking For Advice

1 reply [Last post]
lj simpki
User offline. Last seen 7 years 19 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None

Hello Everyone!

First off, I appreciate you taking the time to read this thread. I've recently joined a new company. My background is mostly in enterprise sales and small scale project management (team of 3 on less sophisticated business). I was lucky enough to land a job at rapidly growing small manfacturing company. We work mainly through distributers to deliver custom product development. We have a small team of engineers who focus mainly on product development, a small outside sales force, and an overwhelmed operations team. 

We've recently acquired two large products. The problem I've seen from only being there a few days is poor time management, communication, and infrastructure. Virtually no software development tools for planning, aside from a less than detailed smart sheet engineering uses as a basic task manager. There is no centralized point of information and our engineers have no access to our ERP system.