Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Value of Work Done

11 replies [Last post]
gary harvey
User offline. Last seen 1 year 19 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None

I'm a consultant and recently been involved with an implementation of a cost control system for some Oil & Gas projects that involved heavy Value of Work Done (VOWD).

I'm very familiar with earned value and initially I thought VOWD was just another name for earned value but I've learnt that it isn't and the two techniques can both be applicable.

VOWD is Purchase Order and Commitment and based and would seem to be particularly suitable for projects with a large purchasing component.

There isn't much reference material that I can find about VOWD although I know it is used at a number of oil&gas owners and contractors.

Can anybody point to reference material for the management thoughts underlying VOWD? How do I look at a VOWD metric and determine whether it is good or bad?

Replies

HERY MADA INDRA P...
User offline. Last seen 8 years 3 weeks ago. Offline

Would you mind share the VOWD Excel for me (herymadapaska@gmail.com). it was a nice tools

HERY MADA INDRA P...
User offline. Last seen 8 years 3 weeks ago. Offline

You may also use Primavera Software Schedule. Comparing your provious schedule with the updated progress schedule is VOWD. You should use the accurate information when updating your schedule suit to your construction progress in the field.