Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

P5 Issue using 2 different set of calendars

14 replies [Last post]
Charles Aboukhaled
User offline. Last seen 13 years 23 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None
Hi all!

I have this problem with primavera 5, i work in construction and we regularly need to set up different working calendar for the same project. For exemple 10 hours/day and 20 hours/day, meening activity done in one or two shifts.

The problem i’m facing is as follows:
- default setting is 10 hours/day,
- Planned duration for an activity is 10 days but with 20hours/day calendar, P5 end date is calculated as 5 days not 10 days.

How can we work in day units using multiple calendars in P5, we actually did not have this issue in P3?

Thanks for the help

Replies

Oliver Melling
User offline. Last seen 4 years 29 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: The GrapeVine
KD,

It is the activity duration that doesn’t display correctly.
The dates are ok, but as P5 works in hours behind the scenes, when durations are entered in days P5 converts them into hours then spreads them based in the Hours per period in the admin perferences.

The only quick fix is global change.

Oliver
K D
User offline. Last seen 15 years 27 weeks ago. Offline
Hi Tony
As far as I know, P6 still have not support this feature.
K D
Hi All.
By default Primavera use Global calendar for WBS band.
But I think there is another way to assign different calendar to different WBS.