Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

From P3e to MS Project then back to P3e

9 replies [Last post]
Doug Bunch
User offline. Last seen 3 years 32 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None
I am very new to project controls, Primavera, and MS Project. I have been asked to check into exporting a schedule into MS Project so a user can adjust dates and % complete himself, then import the schedule back into P3e.

The things I have run into so far:
-P3 won’t accept the activity ID from P3e. I can save the activity ID into a text1 field during the P3e to .MPX export and I can tell the system not to import the line numbers when pulling form the MPX back into P3e, but then I can’t seem to mak the activity code back tot he right spot. The system just assigns a totally new one.

- When I export to an mpx from P3 and then without changing anyhting, import it back in, the WBS is all screwy.

Has anyone succesfully done this? Is there some tool that would allow this to work?

Replies

Doug Bunch
I’ve had to sideline this effort for a little while. I’ll post back when I’ve a chance to try some of the suggestions.

Thanks All

Doug
Amir Dadbakhsh
User offline. Last seen 3 years 19 weeks ago. Offline
In last posts that I have read, I agreed with most of the Alex’ opinions and found them useful, thanks Alex.