Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Logic

2 replies [Last post]
J Samuel
User offline. Last seen 8 years 51 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None

Hi,

I am relatively new to planning. I am planning my first job, to build 4 large pipelines. The pipelines are over 500m in length each, and run parallel to each other. Each pipeline needs to grow at the same time i.e. not construct the first pipe, then the second etc.

I have input each activity to build each pipeline, and input the logic for each pipeline i.e. install the first section of pipe before the second section etc.

I have done it on the basis of having infinite resources. However, this will not be the case. There may only be one crane for example.

My question is, although I have put the actual logic in, how do I influence the schedule in order so it is built in a particular way? E.g. Pipeline 1 section 1 > Pipeline 2 section 1 > Pipeline 3 section 1 > Pipeline 4 section 1 > Pipeline 1 section 2

Do I just use logic link, even though it's not the actual logic.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Replies

Mike Testro
User offline. Last seen 4 weeks 4 days ago. Offline

Hi Samuel

Although Satish has described the method I prefer not to use the resource levelling in the software but apply what is commonly known as "soft logic".

You need to break down the distance of each pipeline into the length that a crane can side lift the pre welded pipeline into the trench in one day.