Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Building Schedule...where to start

11 replies [Last post]
Rizwan Arain
User offline. Last seen 11 years 31 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None
Hello Everyone,

I’m new to planning and scheduling a project and have done a basic training course on Primavera and reading a book on Project planning too. Learning P3-e/c is going OK and I am getting ready to start my job in the same company where once I was working as Network Administrator.
Because I was good at SQL and other softwares so my learning curve is fast. I have just minor confusion and I want good advises from all you.
Primave course and project books are good but I still don’t know when I will be building my first project schedule as where to start from for example, if project is just starting what should I be doing as first step in Primavera software and what will be second and third
steps. Will be calender be build first, or do I have to populate the resourse pool? at what poing will I be doing costing related things? what should be my fourth and fifth steps.

Thanks you all in advance for your advises and time.

Rizwan.

Replies

Oscar Wilde
User offline. Last seen 16 years 9 weeks ago. Offline
Rizwan do you know anything about what you are trying to plan?
If not stop reading primavera books and get out on site you wont becomne a planner by reading a book you will become a software jockey
As
charlie would say hard love mate.
Oscar
Clive Randall
User offline. Last seen 16 years 18 weeks ago. Offline