Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Qualifications for Project Management

9 replies [Last post]
ly lu
User offline. Last seen 17 years 45 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None
I’m a fresh graduate from university with Bachelor of Engineering degree. I’m interested in project management.
My question is since I’m new to project management (I didn’t learn this in university), what kind of skills and qualifications do I need to be in project management industry? What kind of courses/degree do I need if I want to progress in project management?

Replies

Daniel Limson
User offline. Last seen 4 years 39 weeks ago. Offline

Hi Ly,

I think you must be confused by now with all the comments you read, I must say that they are all valid. If I was in your place right now, this is what I would do:

1. study further and take a course in Project Management. 

2. At the same time, gain some experience in Construction by working with a Contractor or a Project Management Company.

3. During this period, you need to learn the construction industry process and how they do business from prequalification to project close out. You also need to learn how they do the works on site and how you can improved them. Young Engineers have innovative minds and they always come up with something new to improved the process.