Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Beginner Resource Leveling Issue

2 replies [Last post]
Joshua Topham
User offline. Last seen 1 year 37 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None

Hi, I'm fairly new to MS Project and have been doing some practice pieces before I look at using it for anything at work. To this end I've created a schedule for a large dinner I'm making over the course of a week - over 100 components so it is also useful to have a detailed prep plan - but really this is just to get my head around the system. I have looked up several guides and googled answers, but am now well and truly stuck.

File Setup and Context:

I myself am the main resource for the project, and have set available hours for myself from 15:00-23:00 Monday through Saturday, aiming to serve up at a deadline of 19:00 Saturday. Some tasks can go on by themselves, ie oven running for a few hours unaided, but most are set to utilize me at 100%. All the tasks are set to go as soon as possible, automatically scheduled, and run on the 24 hours calendar (I want my availability to be limiting factor. If the oven runs overnight so be it.)

Initially all my tasks were grouped at 8:00 Monday morning with a few pushed slightly later by dependencies on previous ones. I was over-allocated for most of Monday and then had nothing for the rest of the week. Then I tried to level resource...

Issue: